Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Rules clarification for advancement

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • 10298Programmer
    replied
    If a team has already qualified for the next level, then if they would advance again, it just goes to the next team on the advancement list. So no, a team who already advanced doesn't deny any other team from advancing (unless of course they knock them out in the finals or something)

    Leave a comment:


  • thawkey2018
    replied
    I would consider/re-consider whether teams that have advanced to Detroit/Houston at one state/regional championship should be allowed to compete at any other events before Detroit/Houston.
    Once a team has qualified for Worlds, if they go to any other tournaments, they are denying another team any chance to advance. It can also skew the robot game significantly.

    Leave a comment:


  • norinftc4uLori
    replied
    Hope this is helpful:

    Game Manual Part 1
    - Section 5.0 details the types (tiers) of competitions
    - Section 6.3 details
    ...eligible for advancement at any one of the first three tournaments they participate in at any of the following levels, regardless of the region.
    • League Tournament
    • Qualifying Tournament
    • Super Qualifying Tournament
    • Championship Tournament

    So the way I read it is:
    - if your team participates in 1 state championship (no qualifier needed) - You still are eligible to participate in and advance on to World from 2 more State Championships
    - What if they advance to a Regional from the third time we compete? They can go but not advance to worlds?
    - If it is the third Qualifying Tournament, your team is eligible to advance on to either a Super Qualifier or State Championship (depending on the State's competition model)
    - If it is the third Championship Tournament, your team is eligible to advance on to World
    If your team is participating in a fourth competition at any of the levels - then you are there for "the love of the game..." and not eligible to advance to the next level.

    Leave a comment:


  • mreese2018
    replied
    Read this:
    https://ftcforum.usfirst.org/forum/f...before-posting

    Leave a comment:


  • Badwolf2
    replied
    BTW, for some reason, I am not able to create a post in the advancement subcategory where it says "Post questions here". There is no text box to type into.

    Leave a comment:


  • Badwolf2
    started a topic Rules clarification for advancement

    Rules clarification for advancement

    The new advancement rules are very confusing. If my team goes to 1 state championship (no qualifier needed) are they only eligible to attend 2 more tournaments? What if they advance to a Regional from the third time we compete? They can go but not advance to worlds?
Working...
X