Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Autonomous Period

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Autonomous Period

    Answers to questions about Autonomous Period.

  • #2
    Originally posted by FTC8397
    Subject: Section 4.5.2 2(a) Stone Delivery Scoring value for the first two Stones and/or Skystones Delivered

    Game Manual Part 2 states [4.5.2 (2a)] states: Initial two Stones Delivered - If these are Skystones, the Alliance will earn ten (10) points each. If these are Stones, the Alliance will earn two (2) points each. So clearly two SkyStones garner 20 points total, while two Stones garner 4 points total. But how will the following be scored:

    Question 1: Single Skystone only (i.e., no second stone)?
    Question 2: Skystone followed by Stone?
    Question 3: Stone followed by Skystone?

    Thank you!


    First of all, thank you for citing the appropriate section number in your question.

    Answer 1: 10 points(10 Skystone points).

    Answer 2: 12 points (10 Skystone points + 2 Stone points).

    Answer 3: 12 points (2 Stone points + 10 Skystone points).

    Comment


    • #3
      Originally posted by FTC8565
      Subject: <GS6> Blocking Access to the Depot - May Robots purposefully enter the Depot during the Autonomous Period?

      Question: May Robots purposefully enter the Depot during the Autonomous Period?

      Rule <GS6> states that entering the depot during autonomous will be handled by <G30>. An autonomous route programmed to pass through the opponent's depot would be repeatable and thus wouldn't be inadvertent. Since the depots are useless during autonomous, passing through the opponent's depot would be inconsequential and in line with the rule's intention stated in the orange box (the depots are already blocked by the bricks because of <GS2>, and there are no bricks in the depot during autonomous). (This is assuming that <G30> applies to actions that are both inadvertent and inconsequential instead of individually referring to both as methods of waiving rule violations)

      Answer: Robots may enter the opposing Alliance's Depot during the Autonomous Period without incurring rule <GS6> penalties. Robots In the Depot at the end of the Autonomous Period are expected to immediately move out of the Depot at the start of the Driver-Controlled Period.

      Comment


      • #4
        Originally posted by FTC10131
        Subject: <GS6> Blocking Access to a Depot - Questions about three Autonomous Period scenarios.

        Rule GS6 states in part: "Robots may not be In or Block access to the opposing Alliance's Depot. Inconsequential violations of this rule during the Autonomous Period will be handled per rule G30."

        Just to clarify:

        Question 1: May a robot travel purposely and repeatedly through their opponent's depot to get skystones and stones during the autonomous period without penalty if they end the autonomous period not in the depot and do not violate other rules (e.g., interfering with opponent scoring, etc.)?

        Question 2: If a robot has unexpected behavior during the autonomous period and ends the autonomous period in the opponent's depot, but immediately leaves the depot when the driver controlled period starts, will they incur a penalty?

        Question 3: If a robot during the autonomous period accidentally or purposely pushes one or more stones into their opponent's depot, will any penalty be incurred? Note that it is possible that this type of activity could have strategic value (e.g., putting a knocked-over stone in the depot corner if a team knows their opponent's robot cannot pick up stones in a corner or stones that are knocked over, etc.)?

        Answer 1: Yes

        Answer 2: No

        Answer 3: Rule <G29> Illegal Usage of Game Elements may come into play at the discretion of the Referee. A single Stone or Skystone In the Depot that is near the taped portion of the Depot area is unlikely to be penalized because it is reasonable to assume that any Robot is capable of moving the Scoring Element out of the way. At the other extreme, several Stones or Skystones pushed against the Playing Field Wall corner of the Depot is more likely to be viewed by the Referee as violating rule <G29>.

        Comment


        • #5
          Originally posted by FTC10138
          Subject: <GS2> Autonomous Period Interference and <G29> Illegal Usage of Game Elements - Repositioning the opposing Alliance's Foundation during the Autonomous Period

          We believe (and hope) the intent of the rules would prohibit the following, but the letter of the rules seems to leave a loophole.

          <GS2> explicitly prohibits the opposing Alliance from contact or disrupting Stones or Skystones. But no mention of the Foundation is made.
          <GS5> explicitly prohibits robots being IN the opposing Alliance's Foundation. This leaves contact/movement possible from the side face of the Foundation.
          <GS8> explicitly prohibits the opposing Alliance from CONTROLLING your foundation when it's IN your Building Site, or during END GAME. Nothing explicit is mentioned of Autonomous or Driver-Controlled period.

          Question: Would pushing into the opposing Alliance's foundation side face (and moving it), either directly or by pushing your own Foundation into it, during AUTONOMOUS be allowed (repositioning it to somewhere other than the starting position, but still in the Building Zone)?

          Answer: The Robot's actions violate rules <GS2> and <G29>.

          Comment


          • #6
            Originally posted by FTC7854
            Subject: <GS2> Autonomous Period Interference and <G29> Illegal Usage of Game Elements

            <GS2> says that robots "may not interfere with the opposing Alliance's Scoring attempts."

            Question 1: Is it legal to place a Skystone pattern and/or navigation target on the robot walls with the intent of showing it to opposing Alliance robots and triggering their visual recognition systems? For example, if a team used this strategy and an opposing team failed to score Skystones as a result, would GS2 have been violated?

            Question 2: If the above strategy is illegal, would it also be illegal to place a plain black rectangle on the robot wall?

            Question 3: If both of the above are illegal, would it also be illegal to have black robot walls? At what point do aesthetic design choices become violations of GS2?

            Answer 1: This strategy violates rule <GS2> for interfering with the opposing Alliance’s Scoring attempts during the Autonomous Period. The team provided facsimile of a Skystone image or Navigation Target also violates rule <G29> for for using Game Elements to amplify the difficulty of a Scoring or game activity.

            ​​​​​​​Answers 2 & 3: Panels, images, shapes, etc. mounted on the robot that a “reasonable observer” would consider to be a possible source of visual interference for the opposing Alliance Robots are not allowed.

            Comment


            • #7
              Originally posted by FTC12090
              Subject: <GS2> Autonomous Period Interference - Blocking the opposing Alliance's Skybridge

              <GS2> says that robots "may not interfere with the opposing Alliance's Scoring attempts."

              Question: If an autonomous routine drives across the field through the stones it would effectively block the alliance bridge requiring a robot to drive around or under the center bridge. It seems this would violate GS2 for a 20 point penalty, but that would be a very good point trade against an auto that does more than 20 points. Is there any other penalties that can be incurred by just driving straight across the field and providing very little access to the alliance bridge and potentially hitting the opponent robot?

              Answer: The following rule violations apply to this scenario if the action interferes with the opposing Alliance's Scoring attempts:

              a) <GS2> for interfering with the opposing Alliance's Scoring attempt via Blocking Access to their Skybridge.
              b) <GS2> violation if the Stones/Skystones in the opposing Alliance's Quarry are contacted/disrupted.
              c) <G18> for intentionally Blocking the opposing Alliance's Robot.
              d) <G28> for a flagrant and/or intentional rule violation. See post #8 in the "Game Play - All Match Periods" answer thread for additional details.

              Multiple violations of the above rules will occur as appropriate, if the Scoring attempts of both of the opposing Alliance Robots are affected.

              Comment


              • #8
                Originally posted by FTC4634
                Subject: Human Player interaction with the Stone Supply during Pre-Match Setup or during the Autonomous Period

                Question: May a Human Player manipulate (e.g. touch, re-arrange) the Stone Supply during Pre-Match Setup or during the course of the Autonomous Period?

                Answer: Human players should not handle/rearrange the off-field stacks of Stones prior to the start of the Autonomous Period (i.e., this is considered a <G2> violation for adjusting the Game Elements during Match Setup). The Human Player may touch, re-arrange, possess, etc. Stones in the Stone Supply after the Autonomous Period starts.

                Comment


                • #9
                  Originally posted by FTC11115
                  Subject: <GS2> Autonomous Period Interference - Moving the opposing Alliance's Foundation.

                  Rule GS2 prevents interference with opposite Alliance's autonomous scoring attempt and specifically stones+skystones as being protected. It is a bit unclear about the foundation and recent streamed events showed very inconsistent referee rulings on this.

                  Question: What if any penalties should be called on the following scenarios that result in the opposite alliance in missing moving their foundation and delivering their stone(s) onto it:

                  A) Robot accidentally bumps opposite alliance's foundation out of position. The bump is small, but still results in opposite team missing their foundation.
                  B) This time the robot pushes the opposite foundation a significant distance while grabbing their own foundation. It is still unclear whether this is intentional.
                  C) Robot clearly intentionally pushes opposite foundation while grabbing their foundation.

                  The most common scenario witnessed in the scrimmages was teams pushing forward to grab their foundation, resulting in pushing their foundation forward into the opposite team's foundation

                  Answer: All three scenarios violate rule <GS2>.

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    Originally posted by FTC13380
                    Subject: <G21> Scoring Elements in Contact with Robots - Stone Delivery

                    Question: During the autonomous period, if the robot takes the skystone from the loading zone to the building zone fully and comes back to park under the bridge without detaching/dropping the skystone, will the team get points for skystone? The robot is still in contact with the skystone but the skystone remains fully in the building zone.

                    Answer: Yes, the Skystone earned the Stone Delivery Score as soon at the Skystone and Robot were both Completely In the Building Zone. A Stone or Skystone in contact with a Robot is still eligible to earn the Stone Delivery points.

                    Comment


                    • #11
                      Originally posted by FTC16008
                      Subject: Section 4.5.2 Autonomous Period Navigating Task

                      In the rule 4.5.2 Autonomous Period - item 3:

                      Navigating - Each Robot that is Parked over the tape separating the Loading Zone from the Building Zone and under their Alliance's Skybridge at the end of the Autonomous Period will earn five (5) points for their Alliance.

                      Question: What does "parked" over the tape and under their Alliance's Skybridge mean in this instance? Does it mean that just part of the robot (e.g. an arm) be over the tape and under the Skybridge? Or does the robot's wheels have to be over the tape?

                      Answer: Any portion of a Parked Robot that is over the tape and under their Alliance's Skybridge satisfies the requirement for Navigating. For example, a Parked Robot's arm extending over the tape and under their Alliance's Skybridge satisfies the requirements for Navigating. A Robot's drivetrain does not have to be over the tape.

                      Comment


                      • #12
                        Originally posted by FTC14433
                        Subject: <GS2> Autonomous Period Interference and <G29> Illegal Usage of Game Elements - Foundation movement during the Autonomous Period

                        In https://<b>:</b>.firstinspires.org/f...4904#post74904, it asked "Question: Would pushing into the opposing Alliance's foundation side face (and moving it), either directly or by pushing your own Foundation into it, during AUTONOMOUS be allowed (repositioning it to somewhere other than the starting position, but still in the Building Zone)?", answer is "The Robot's actions violate rules <GS2> and <G29>."

                        Question 1: What if both Alliances move their foundations (sometimes you push the foundation for better grab) during AUTONOMOUS, push foundations to the center, and hit each other? Who should get penalty?

                        Question 2: What if red team moves their foundations towards center first (or even cross center line), and when blue team moves their foundation to the center, it hits the red foundation, will blue team get penalty?

                        Question 3: My understanding is that the rule is to prevent the team to intentionally increase difficulty of other Alliance. If the one alliance moves its foundation for its own benefit, never cross the center line, should it get penalty if it hits the other foundation already moved by the other alliance to the center? Will it get penalty only if it de-scores other other team?

                        Answer: The answer to all three questions is: it is likely that Referees watching the Match will consider these actions to be simply Robots "playing the game" and no Penalty will be assessed.

                        Comment

                        Working...
                        X