No announcement yet.

Game Rules - Answer Thread

This is a sticky topic.
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Section 1.5.2 Autonomous Period - Starting the Robot

    Originally posted by FTC9214
    We have a question regarding how the autonomous OpMode starts. Our autonomous OpMode starts after the Play button on the android phone is pressed. Where we've competed, we haven't seen anyone use the autonomous period so we don't know what to expect at the competition when we use it.

    Q: Will we be pressing the button when the match starts or will the referees have a device that automatically starts the OpModes?

    RHS 9214

    A: A member of the Drive Team starts the Autonomous Period OpMode as described in section 1.5.2 of the Game Manual Part 2.


    • <GS9>Blocking Access - Mountain Goals

      Originally posted by FTC4106
      We ran a regional yesterday and came into a situation we couldn't clearly determined that made for a huge swing in the results.
      Red alliance waits on high zone until end game starts. They grapple up and hang their robot. It swings sideways some and overhangs the blue alliance high goal. Blue alliance grabs debris and comes up to dump them in the high goal, but by the time they get there, their mechanism can no longer access the high zone goal because the other robot is hanging in the way. How should this be ruled? No penalty on red? Double Major penalty on red? something else?

      A: The consequences described in rule <GS9> for Blocking access will be applied to Robot mechanisms and/or strategies that Block Access to Scoring in an opposing Alliance's Mountain Goal if an opposing Alliance Robot is actively attempting to place Debris into the blocked Goal.


      • Section Driver-Controlled Period - Parking on the Mountain &amp; Touching a Robot

        Originally posted by FTC4106
        When one robot has begun to climb the mountain in the end game and their partner robot begins to climb behind them and pushes into them and the match ends with contact there, does the mountain further up the mountain get credit for its position (say, mountain low zone) or because part of its weight is supported by their partner robot, does it receive score for the position of the supporting robot?

        A: Alliance partner Robots may assist each other with climbing and/or Parking On the Mountain. Support provided by an Alliance Partner Robot doesn't affect how the Supported Robot is Scored for Parking in the Low, Mid and High Zones. Referees will disregard the Support provided by the Alliance Partner Robot and follow the normal procedure for scoring Parked Robots.

        At the end of a Match, a Robot that is Supported by an Alliance Partner Robot is not eligible to earn points for a Pull-up.


        • Launching a Part of the Robot

          Originally posted by FTC10401
          I am volunteering as a FIRST FTC mentor for team 10401. In order to climb/hang from the bar in the end game the students designed a grappling hook tethered to a string and pulley acting as a winch. They then designed a small PVC tube which gets filled with 2 pumps of air from a bicycle pump, then released through a butterfly valve to launch the grappling hook no more than 4 feet (from the bottom of the ramp to the pull up bar ).

          The setup is very safe - only 2 pumps of air from a bicycle pump (approx. 35 psi). The grappling is 3D printed and very light (only a few ounces) and it is tethered to the robot by a high strength cord.

          I found a rule in the Game Manual Part 1, that states that "parts of the Robot itself may not be launched", but since the grappling hook is tethered to the robot and will be retracted, is this technically "launching a part of the robot"? No where in the rules are pneumatics mentioned. The robot is allowed to expand using stored energy, would this just be a logical extension of that?

          For reference:
          <RG11> Game elements launched by Robots should not have a velocity greater than that required to reach a maximum of 1.5 meters (5 feet) above the lowest point of the Robot, nor travel a horizontal distance greater than 3 meters (10 feet) from the point that the game element ends contact with the Robot. Parts of the Robot itself may not be launched.

          A: The Robot design described in the post is not allowed by the Robot construction rules for the following reasons:
          1) Pneumatic devices are not an allowed energy source in rule <RG10>.
          2) Rule <RG11> states that parts of the Robot may not be launched. A tethered grappling hook that has been launched from the Robot is still part of the Robot.

          For additional information, visit the "Robot Inspection and Build Rules - Mechanical - Answer Thread" and view posts #3, #5, and #24.


          • &lt;S2&gt; and &lt;GS20&gt; - Robot extension Outside the Playing Field Perimeter

            Originally posted by FTC10068
            Q: Can Teams have portions of their Robots Outside of the Playing Field Perimeter? What are the constrains on this assuming we abide by <S2>?

            A: In general, Robots should remain Inside the Playing Field Perimeter for safety reasons. The Game Design Committee wrote rules <S2> and <GS20> to balance safety with allowing Robots to play the game. The Game Design Committee's intent for these two rules is to avoid penalizing Robots for Inconsequential extensions Outside the Playing Field Perimeter and to allow Robots to extend outside the Playing Field Perimeter when interacting with the Game Elements listed in rule <GS20>.

            Also note that the pre-match Robot setup constraints in section 1.5.1.e require Robots not to extend beyond the Outside edge of the Playing Field Wall.


            • &lt;GS10&gt; Ingress into an opposing Alliance Climbing Area - Autonomous Period

              Originally posted by FTC4997
              <GS10> states that robots will not be penalized for being on the opposing alliance's ramp during autonomous as long as their first action in teleop is to get off of it.

              Q: Is it legal to intentionally drive partially up on the opposing alliance's ramp during autonomous, or are only accidental incidents allowed? Thanks!

              A: Robots are allowed to intentionally enter the opposing Alliance's Climbing Area during the Autonomous Period without incurring <GS10> penalties.


              • Section 1.5.3 Driver-Controlled Period - Selecting the Op Mode

                Originally posted by FTC3916
                Q: After the autonomous period, are we allowed to go to our robot controller phone and change the application from our Autonomous program to our Driver controlled program? Thanks!

                A: Drive Teams are not allowed to touch their Robots during the transition time between the Autonomous and Driver-Controlled Periods. Drive Teams select their Driver-Controlled Period Op Mode with the Driver Station Android Device as described in section 1.5.3 of the Game Manual Part 2.


                • &lt;RG11&gt; Launching parts of the Robot

                  Originally posted by FTC4144
                  Q1: What is the definition for a launching a part of the robot? Example: if the robot has a arm and as it extends releases a hook to attach on the pull-up bar, is that launching? The hook is tethered to a line and winch, the arm would be tossing it maybe 6 to 8 inches.

                  Q2: What if the climber is used as "hook", is that legal to toss around the pull-up bar.


                  A1: Throwing, tossing, hurling, flinging, pitching, lobbing, shooting, heaving, and slinging are additional descriptors for "launching" a part of the robot. Releasing a hook from an arm when the hook is in contact with the Pull-up Bar is allowed. "Tossing" the hook is not allowed.

                  A2: The action described in the question is not allowed. The Climber is tethered to the Robot; making the Climber "part of the Robot," even after it has been "tossed." Rule <RG11> prohibits parts of the Robot from being launched.

                  For additional information, visit the "Robot Inspection and Build Rules - Mechanical - Answer Thread" and view posts #3, #5, and #24.


                  • &lt;GS13&gt; Mountain Scoring Constraints-Buffer Area &amp; &lt;GS9&gt; Blocking Access-Mountain Goal

                    Originally posted by FTC6299
                    Q1: Our robot is very close (but not touching) the white gaffer tape while scoring. When we go to hang we first extend and make contact (grappling) with the bar, slip slightly back touching the tape a little and then pulling up on the bar to hang. Would this still be a valid hang?

                    Q2: As clarified in Q&A 107 if a robot hanging is blocking a goal of the opposing alliance from scoring then it breaks rule GS9. During a match in order to score the all clear signal you must be close to the opposing scoring zone which in many cases may be close to the basket. How far on your side of the mountain do you now have to be in order to be able to hang?

                    A1: The scenario described in the question is allowed. The Robot is Completely On the Mountain above the buffer Area when it attaches to the Cliff Pull-up Bar and the Robot remains Completely On the Mountain for the remainder pull-up maneuver. Slipping back and touching the buffer Area after grappling the Pull-up Bar is an Inconsequential action and the Robot remains eligible to earn points for a successful hang from the Cliff Pull-up Bar.

                    A2: Robot hang question: The Blocking Access rule, <GS9>, consequences will be invoked when the referees believe that a Robot has a consequential affect on an opposing Alliance Robot that is actively attempting to Score Debris into the Mountain Goal. A Robot that is hanging above a portion of the Mountain Goal while an opposing Alliance Robot is attempting to Score Debris into a Mountain Goal is not an automatic violation of <GS9>. Referees will make the determination based on the unique circumstances of the Match.

                    Robot triggering the All Clear Signal question: The Mountain Goals are in an Alliance-shared space between the two Climbing Areas. Ingress into this area while a Robot is in the act of triggering the All Clear Signal is allowed. Robots should not Block Access to the opposing Alliance's Mountain Goal after the All Clear Signal has been triggered. Rule <GS9> consequences will come into play if the Robot continues to Block Access after a reasonable amount of time has been allowed to leave the Area after triggering the All Clear Signal and the Robot has a consequential affect on an opposing Alliance Robot that is actively attempting to Score Debris into the Mountain Goal.


                    • &lt;GS7&gt; Debris Possession/Control - Debris Trapped between a Robot and Mountain

                      Originally posted by FTC7758
                      Is there a penalty if debris is trapped under your robot as you try to climb up the mountain?

                      A: Debris that is Inadvertently trapped under a Robot as it is climbing the Mountain do not count towards the Debris Possession/Control rule, <GS7>. This action is considered to be plowing through Debris.


                      • &lt;GS7&gt; Debris Possession/Control &amp; &lt;GS8&gt; Debris Score Value During Autonomous

                        Originally posted by FTC8702
                        Our team is wondering about the specifics of GS7 and GS8. GS8 states that we are allowed to collect debris in accordance with GS7. GS8 also states that debris is worth zero in Autonomous, but will not be removed at the end of the period. If we were to get more than 5 debris (unintenionaly) into the floor goal, would they be scored at the end of the driver-controlled period?


                        A: There is no rule that limits the total number of legally Scored Debris during the Autonomous Period. All Debris In the Floor Goal at the end of the Driver-Controlled Period will be counted as Scored if they were:

                        a) Scored legally during the Autonomous or Driver-Controlled Periods, or
                        b) entered the Floor Goal when they are introduced onto the Playing Field.


                        • &lt;G12&gt; Recording the Score after objects come to rest - Cliff Pull-up

                          Originally posted by FTC8569
                          In section 1.5.4 End Game the Cliff Pull-up Bar section says "A Robot Fully Supported (i.e. hanging) by the Cliff Pull-up Bar earns eighty points." When is fully supported required? While there is still power sent to the motors, or after the motors are powered down? If the robot descends once the program ends does this still count as being fully supported? Or, must the robot still be hanging after power is removed from the motors without descending?

                          A: Rule <G12> states that referee scoresheets are filled out at the end of the Driver-Controlled Period when all objects on the Playing Field have come to rest. After a Match ends, a Robot that "descends once the program ends" will be Scored based on its state after it has come to rest.


                          • &lt;G3&gt; Robot Starting Volume

                            Originally posted by FTC8881
                            Rule <G03> States that "the maximum size of the Robot for starting a Match is 45.72cm (18 inches) wide by 45.72cm (18 inches) long by 45.72cm (18 inches) high." It also states that "Robots may expand beyond the starting size constraint after the start of the Match."

                            What is the definition of "Start of Match?" Is this:

                            A) After Robot Placement and BEFORE the Autonomous OpMode is Selected
                            B) After Robot Placement, OpMode Selected, and BEFORE INIT is Pressed
                            C) After Robot Placement, OpMode Selected, and INIT Pressed, but BEFORE START Pressed?

                            I have watched videos where robots move during the initialization process to greater than the 18x18x18. In some tournaments the robot was disqualified as interpretation C was used. In other cases the robot was neither disqualified nor penalized as either interpretation A or B was used. A and B should result in no moving items on the robot. However, C may cause robot parts to move during servo initialization.

                            In summary, does the robot have to stay within the 18x18x18 cube during initialization (only servos moving to preset position and no motors moving)?

                            Very respectfully,

                            Pirates of the Pacific

                            A: The correct answer is "C." The Robot is required to be inside the rule <G3> size constraint upon the conclusion of the initialization routine and before the "Start" button is pressed. Robot parts are allowed to move and they may extend outside the size constraint during Robot initialization.


                            • Section 1.5.2 Autonomous Period - Stop playing the game

                              Originally posted by FTC9791

                              It is unclear to us what procedures must be followed at the end of autonomous. Under clarification #98 in the Game Rules answer thread, it seems that all motors must be electrically floating for the robot to have been considered to have been stopped at the end of the match. However,

                              Q: It is unclear if all motors must be electrically floating at the end of autonomous. Would it be legal, after the 30 second period has ended, to apply power to the motors without causing the robot to move?

                              This seems to stem from the fact that "stop playing the game" is not well defined in the game manuals. It seems to us that "stop playing the game" would indicate that it is illegal to move any motors, not that all motors must electrically float. However, clarification #98 appears to undermine this.

                              Thank you for your time,

                              A: Motors should be unpowered during the transition time between the Autonomous and Driver-Controlled Periods. Section 1.5.2 of the Game Manual Part 2 requires Drive Teams to use the Driver Station "Start" feature with the thirty second stop timer to start the Autonomous Period. This places the Robot in a safe condition thirty seconds later, for referees and FTAs to perform their duties during the transition time between the Autonomous and Driver-Controlled Periods. Playing Filed Personnel will instruct Drive Teams to pick up their Driver Stations when the Playing Field is ready for the Driver-Controlled Period. At this time, Drive Teams pick up their Driver Station, select their Driver-Controlled OpMode, and press the "Init" button. Following a countdown to start the Driver-Controlled Period, Drive Teams press the "Start" button on their Driver Station.


                              • &lt;GS13&gt; Mountain Scoring Constraints

                                Originally posted by FTC4322
                                Q1: May a robot that is starting from a location on the playing field soft tile floor or partially on the mountain, perform the following actions in the specified order:

                                1) Attach to a churro in the mountain high or mid zone,
                                2) Pull itself onto the mountain, completely above the 2-inch buffer area,
                                3) Score debris in the mid zone and/or high zone goals, and release zip line climbers with the mid and high zone triggers while it is completely on the mountain and above the 2-inch buffer area.

                                Q2: Is a robot that climbs the mountain in the manner described in Q1 steps 1 & 2, eligible to perform a pull-up achievement and/or claim the all clear flag during the end game?

                                A1: Yes, these actions comply with the constraints specified in rules <GS13> and <GS6>.

                                A2: Yes.