Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Clarification of GS5 Penalties for a robot in an opponent's Landing Zone

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Clarification of GS5 Penalties for a robot in an opponent's Landing Zone

    Scenario:

    Two robots, one on the red alliance and one on the blue alliance, are repeatedly gathering minerals from the blue-side crater, moving to the blue crater-side Landing Zone in front of the blue crater-side Lander Cargo Hold, and scoring minerals in the Lander from the blue crater-side Landing Zone.

    Q1: Is the red alliance robot allowed to score from the blue crater-side Landing Zone if it does not contact or interfere with the blue alliance robot? (We believe that the answer is "yes" based on
    this ruling)

    Q2: The blue alliance robot gathers minerals and attempts to move to its blue crater-side Cargo Hold, but it cannot get to the blue Cargo Hold because the red alliance robot is there completing a scoring action. The blue alliance robot contacts the red alliance robot and cannot enter the Cargo Hold Landing Zone for 1-4 seconds, after which the red robot moves out of the way giving the blue robot access. Does the red alliance robot get a GS5 major penalty immediately upon contact, or does the red alliance robot have up to 5 seconds to leave the blue Cargo Hold Landing Zone before a GS5 penalty is assessed?

    Q3: If this happens once and the red alliance is merely warned but does not receive an immediate GS5 penalty, can the red alliance robot continue this action repeatedly, each time only interfering with the blue robot for under 5 seconds? Or should refs continue the 5 second count where it left off the previous time and assess a GS5 major penalty after 5 cumulative seconds of blocking actions?

    Q4: If the blue robot continues to try to access its Cargo Hold and Landing Zone but cannot because the red robot is in the way, but the red robot continues to try to leave the blue Landing Zone but cannot because the blue robot is in the way, and this standoff happens for 5, 10, 20, 30 seconds, what happens? Are any penalties assessed on either robot?

    Q5: More generally, are GS5 penalties incurred immediately when a robot blocks an opposing robot's access to one of their Cargo Holds or Support Brackets, or do robots have 5 seconds to move out of the way before a GS5 penalty is called, similar to G18?


    GDC: The answers that you seek are found by applying rules <GS5> and <GS6> in the Game Manual Part 2.

    Answer 1: Yes, provided that the Red Alliance Robot does not violate rules <GS5> and <GS6>. Warning: This is a risky strategy that will likely lead to Penalties assessed to the Red Alliance Robot.

    Answer 2: Immediate Major Penalty for violating rule <GS5> and an additional minor Penalty assessed for every five seconds that the rule violation persists. Warning: A Red Alliance Robot using the Blue Alliance Landing Zone Area to Score in a Red Alliance Cargo Hold is a risky strategy that will likely lead to Penalties assessed to the Red Alliance Robot.

    Answer 3: An immediate rule <GS5> penalty should be assessed. Rule <GS5> does not have a five second grace period to avoid the initial Major Penalty. Once again, this is a high risk strategy by the Red Alliance Robot.

    Answer 4: Both Alliance Robots have an obligation not to violate game rules. The Blue Alliance Robot should allow the Red Alliance Robot to remove itself from continuing the rule <GS5> Penalty situation.

    Answer 5: Rule <GS5> clearly states that an
    immediate Major Penalty is awarded for violating the rule. Referees may issue a warning when observing a Robot that is at risk of violating this rule.
Working...
X