Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Autonomous Period

Collapse
This is a sticky topic.
X
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Autonomous Period

    Answers to questions about the Autonomous Period.

  • #2
    Originally posted by FTC2901
    Subject: Ring Returns to the Playing Field After it Impacts a Power Shot Target

    Question: During the Autonomous period, after the robot uses a ring to shoot down a power shot target, if that ring bounces back onto the playing field, is the robot allowed to shoot that ring again?

    Answer: Yes

    Comment


    • #3
      Originally posted by FTC2901
      Subject: Are Rings in the Starter Stack Eligible to be Scored during the Autonomous Period?

      Question: During the Autonomous period, can the robot use rings from the Starter Stack to either shoot down Power Shot Targets for points or to score in the Tower Goal?

      Answer: Yes. Keep in mind that the Ring Control/Possession limits described in rule <GS6> apply to all periods of gameplay.

      Comment


      • #4
        Originally posted by FTC2901
        Subject: <G20> Parked at End of the Period - Unpowered Flywheel Motion
        Question: Is it alright for a flywheel to continue on unpowered motion between the Autonomous and Driver-Controlled periods?

        Answer: Yes

        Comment


        • #5
          Originally posted by FTC8397
          Subject: Wobble Goal Target Zone Scoring - Playing Field Wall/Foam Tile Gap

          Two of the three target zones (for a given Alliance Color), are located adjacent to at least one playing field wall. On most fields there is a gap of a millimeter or so between the floor tiles and the playing field wall. So a literal interpretation of the Game Manual Part 2 definition of "Completely In", would indicate that a wobble goal that contacts the perimeter wall is (in most cases) not completely in its target zone. We are uncertain whether it is intended that this strict interpretation be applied. The question below assumes a field that includes an allowed COTS playing field perimeter wall and tiles, and assembled according to the field setup guide.

          Question: If a wobble goal abuts the perimeter wall (and for that reason may extend a few millimeters beyond the vertical plane of the wall-adjacent tape), but is otherwise located completely within its target zone, should it be considered completely inside of the target zone for scoring purposes?

          Answer: Yes, in this scenario, the Playing Field Wall marks the border of the Target Zone Goal Area.

          Comment


          • #6
            Originally posted by FTC5143
            Subject: Possessed Wobble Goal Outside the Launch Zone

            Question: If the robot is holding a wobble goal during the autonomous period and the robot is completely in the launch zone, but the wobble goal is over the line, is it still legal to launch rings into the Mid and High Tower Goals? The robot itself is completely in the launch zone, but the wobble goal is over the line.

            Answer: Yes, per rule <G4>.

            Comment


            • #7
              Originally posted by FTC16031
              Subject: Power Shot Scoring

              In recent remote league meet, my team experienced two situations that we would like to clarify with the Game Design Committee:

              Question 1: Our ring hit the power shot, and it moved from Forward to Back, but then bounced back to Forward position, does it count as scored? It happened more than once during our game, and especially on the 2nd power shot target. Our question is mainly raised by the sentence in the game manual: "Power Shot Targets are Scored at Rest."

              Question 2 The 3rd power shot (far from the tower) sometimes is stiff to move (you can feel by hand), and there is one case, our ring hit it, but was only be able to move it to vertical position (not exactly Back), and it stayed in that status util the end of autonomous period. Does it count as scored?

              Answer 1: No.

              Note: Reducing the Robot's Ring Launch energy is likely to prevent the scenario described in the question.

              Answer 2: The Power Shot Target must be oriented away from the field to count as Scored. Any orientation beyond vertical in the direction away from the field should be counted as Scored. It is not necessary for the Power Shot Target to be in the full back orientation to count as Scored.

              Note: The "stiff" movement of the Power Shot Target described in the question is not normal. Adjust the Power Shot Target assembly so that it easily moves between the Forward and Back states.

              Comment


              • #8
                Originally posted by FTC8397
                Subject: Is this Scenario Legal Plowing or Illegal Herding of the Starter Stack Rings?

                In the autonomous period, with a stack of four rings, after launching the three preloaded rings, the robot does a series of turns and drives to deliver the preloaded wobble goal to the target zone goal, pick up a second wobble goal, and deliver the second wobble goal to the target zone goal. In so doing, the robot happens to run into the stack of four rings twice: once during a turn (this just kind of knocks the stack over), and once during a straight drive to get the second wobble goal (this displaces all four rings by about three feet). There is no attempt to pick up these rings during the autonomous period. The movement of the rings is incidental to the attempt to deliver and pick up wobble goals. It also is not intended to place the rings in a favorable position for the subsequent driver-controlled period.

                Question: Should this be interpreted as legal plowing of the four rings, or illegal control of more than three rings (i.e., herding)?

                Thank you.

                Answer: The Robot actions in this scenario are legal Plowing.

                Note: Rule <GS8> consequences will be applied if the Robot Interferes with the opposing Alliance's Starter Stack.
                Last edited by Air Jordan; 01-25-2021, 08:11 PM.

                Comment


                • #9
                  Originally posted by FTC12533
                  Subject: <GS8> Autonomous Interference - Interfering with an opposing Alliance Launching Rings

                  Red Robot A maneuvers into "the opposing alliance's side" of the playing field to shoot into their mid goal during the autonomous period. Blue Robot B remains on "their side" of the playing field and maneuvers to shoot into their own high goal. As Red Robot A is positioned to shoot into their mid goal, Blue Robot B collides with Red Robot A.

                  Question 1: Red Robot A successfully scores into their mid goal while Blue Robot B misses their shots. Is this a major penalty for Red Robot A?

                  Question 2: Blue Robot B successfully scores into their high goal while Red Robot A misses their shots. Is this a major penalty for Blue Robot B?

                  Question 3: Both robots are unsuccessful in shooting, is this a major penalty for any robot?

                  Answer 1: Yes, this scenario violates rule <GS8>. A Major Penalty is assessed against Red Robot A for each Ring that Blue Robot B Launches towards the Tower Goal.

                  Answer 2: No, Blue Robot B is operating in "their half" of the Playing Field.

                  Answer 3: Yes, this scenario violates rule <GS8>. A Major Penalty is assessed against Red Robot A for each Ring that Blue Robot B Launches towards the Tower Goal.

                  Note: Robots may avoid these types of interference penalties by remaining on their half of the Playing Field (within six feet from the Alliance Station Playing Field Wall) .

                  Comment

                  Working...
                  X